July 24, 2009

  • Freedom and Free Will?

    More than anything I think we all love freedom. I think we all can agree that having freedom is something we cherish if we are fortunate enough to have it, and if not something we hope and dream about possessing. Holding the ability to choose, do, feel, and express our emotions, opinions, and ideas regardless of self origin or under persecution is priceless and fought for constantly throughout the world and all through history. Because we are all unique and live accordingly to how we choose, if there is such a thing, we should be able to control to a certain extent of the out come of our lives. Putting aside tragic accidents and unfortunate events of life, I feel we have peace of mind if we have some control over what we choose to become and what path we choose to walk. I honestly feel perplexed and disoriented in life because of my faith, which says that we all have free will choose how to live our lives.

    Being Christian and passionate about what I believe is something that holds me to stand firm and walk the path of life laid before me. I follow to the best of my ability the things that Christ laid before me in my daily actions; striving through the hardships of life with perseverance, focus, practice and persistence to evolve and become a more capable individual while growing in my relationship with Christ. Despite my short comings and failures, more abundant and countless, I am reminded that I am not perfect nor will I achieve perfection. I find myself constantly learning through my failures and discovering more and more about myself and life. I reflect upon my actions, both good and bad, pulling out what I can to do to improve myself, but not just for myself or for God, but for society and those around me that I directly influence.

    I choose to do as I see correct and fair in my own eyes, remember the wisdom I have gain from personal experience and my studies of the bible. I remember that it is not the literal translations or memories that are important to put forward, but the heart and love that expressed through actions when it comes time to make a choice. To be humble in times of trials and grateful in times of wealth are not easy to express or remember. Getting caught up in a moment is something that common everyday and choosing our decisions carefully and making sense of what is going on around us at all times helps us to exercise our knowledge, which is wisdom. This wisdom will help us to achieve our aspirations and goals as we discover what we really want or see from life.

    Choosing is an expression of freedom, but freedom is the ability to choose to express. To act in accordance of our desires, wants, and needs is something that can feel restricted at times. Taking into account of those around us as well as the outcome or consequences of our actions can then limit our ability to choose freely, thus limiting our freedom. Remembering principles we are to follow is usually meant to be protective or the “best for us.” I speak of sin and the action of sinning; it is always not so clear and cut or black and white. In fact I think it is fair to say there stands a huge grey area at times.

    We don’t always want to follow the law, and sometimes like to take it into our own hands. We naturally like to “do as we please,” breaking our own rules and guidelines we set up for ourselves. Whether they are personal, spiritual, or religious, we sometimes feel limitations to our freedom, thus impacting our free will. Limitations that we put before ourselves meant to prevent damage or give security to our lives - good in principle - however if breaking them for purpose leaves guilt, these rules and guidelines then become questionable. What was once an absolute, becomes questionable whether we want to continue to “put our foot down” or choose step over the line. It is unsettling.

    If something is already set and decided in a plan, does it matter how the ending arrives or is there an alternate finish line? This is a second unsettling mindset. Logically we can express that we can change a direction, path, line, goal, etc... By my faith I feel that God has set forth a plan and predestined the outcome of what He has put into motion. This in turn brings an unsettling mindset as predestination negates the fact of freedom of choice, or free will as a whole if a there is only one “hole for the ball to fall into.” Meaning that despite all actions, somehow or someway all things will end up the same in the end.

    These two subjects: freewill and predestination are full of discussion and controversy within the Christian faith. I like to tell people I don’t like to talk about it as it usually results disagreement, upsetting emotions, or hurt feelings. It is something that I struggle with a lot as I think about what I believe. I like to think I have control over my own life and can choose to do “what is best” given circumstances at any given time, despite it going against my range of “protective walls” or restrictions. I like to do what is fair and just, but realize this: “Who am I to decide what is fair and just or anyone for that matter?” I want to make a decision freely and without something being decided before hand. I like to know that I was the one that made my choice and not an outside influence acting upon me or through me. I like to know I truly have free will at all.

    Ironically, questioning what I believe has grown my faith to help me stand solid and know what I believe to be truth. Despite the many loopholes and logical fallacies within religion or faith, it is so true for me to remember this: Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

    I am also reminded that: "Everything is permissible for me"—but not everything is beneficial.