August 28, 2009

  • When the Seed is Planted it WILL Grow

    So Amazing... So Amazing

    I say it twice because I look back and reflect on what I participated in while I attended SJSU...

    Alpha Kappa Omega Fraternity and Campus Crusade for Christ... Both have blown up and have huge followings and events that we dreamed of when I was active along with my brothers and sisters in both organizations.

    Last night I visit the 8th annual Root Beer Kegger at the Crusade house and it has exploded from when we first started it. I was disappointed to find that there was Thomas Kemper and not BJ's Root Beer, but hey that wasnt what put a smile on my face and excitement in my heart. I saw our once 75ish people event explode into a few hundred attenders. One keg of RB to 6 kegs of RB. Music from speakers to a live band; too bad the neighbors called the police so we could have them play; but still the fact that it has turned out so many people and seeing the new population and once freshmen I knew now Seniors from 3 years ago. It was nice to see that our pizza wall was still full and posted on the walls of the stairs from 5 years ago in the Crusade house. Thanks Little Caesar's for the $6 deep dish pepperoni pizza.

    I heard that the Thursday night chapel was replaced with our activities and still hanging out at the house to the wee hours in the morning. Sunday Nights have the guest speakers now and I heard that there was 2 couples on staff for SJSU, that really what we needed many years ago and its good to see that action in place.

    My Brothers, new and old, still strong and kicking from AKOmega. The family that taught me so much about myself and my flaws, and still continue too. I see the numbers jump, as my alpha class number 8 seems so long ago from the now 70 strong from Beta Chapter alone. The welcome and tightness of this group never fails and has always and will always be present in my life as well as all the brothers as we continue to help our family grow years after we have left the college scene, but I wish I was a freshmen again to do it all over. From La Salsa Classic to Perpetratin to Triple Treat DJ's coming out or being performed or competing, we have found many great memories that we all can share as time goes on. 2001 Spring will be a time that will forever be engraved in my life and attitude as I was formed into a more multifaceted individual that shined brightly in the name of Courage, my family.

    So much excitement so not to long ago, but DAMN WHAT AN EXPLOSION!

    so amazing... dream it... believe it... see it...