December 9, 2008

  • What My Blog is About

    I have read a lot of blogs; some are directed toward a specific audience, a place to vent thoughts, a place to write random things you did or experienced, or a place to give your own reviews. Of course it is not limited to that, but that is a lot of what we can find most commonly on most blogs as I have witnessed. I denote and specify that my blog in fact in not any of those things, but all of them and more.

    To me this is what a blog is:

    People often have thoughts, emotions, feelings, experiences, ideas, revelations, and many other brain explosions and are often crammed up into our brains, which we tend to keep to ourselves. For a few of us, sharing these impulses is the best way to show or vent what is on our mind and through it, you can find out a lot about a person just from reading their blog. A blog is nothing more than an expression of a brain's orgasm.

    Blog can be many things, but what is will always be is a piece of writing that will be shared over the internet, unless of course it is made private. It contains much more than just words and inner thoughts or desires. It contains more than just ramblings and venting. It contains more than just photos, videos, or music. It contains something that is intangible, transparent, and above all unquestionable stature. It contains everything and nothing all at once. Blogging contains quite simply life.

    Life is what we experience it to be and though blogging we share life with one another. In life we experience many things and take interest in many things, much like blogging. We read and related to one another on levels that we never thought possible. We see and hear sights and sounds or all that is happening with life. If we are lucky to have smell-a-vision, we might even catch a whiff of its fragrance as well. Nonetheless we can experience more life through blogging while recording our own at the same time.

    Limitations in life are abundant and plentiful with many walls, moats, and mountains making it a little difficult if not unsurpassable to overcome. Blogging has none. You can be the journalist, emotional expresser, commentator, news reporter, philosopher, player, or even a troll. You are as free as you wish to jot down and provide details to anything you want as long as you can live with the consequences of both good and bad dealings in cyberspace.

    Keeping a log of what goes on in life or the random events that surround us day in and day out is something that our brain does for us as it records memories. And like memories we like to reminisce on them from time to time with friends, family or even strangers, but it is only what we can recall at that time in our life that we are able to share. Blogging also provides a historical account which does forget, despite the fact that sometimes we wish it would. A legend recorded is a memory that does fade and is able to be recalled at will, as long as an information superhighway connection and computer is available.

    With records and accounts of what we choose to reveal to the world or one’s and zero’s also gives us hindsight into our lives. Where we came from, who we met, the places we have been, and where we want to be or strive to be from the past. An evolution of a person is contained within a blog; of course we have to continue to write in them for years to see this. It is exciting to read about and see how things turn out and how our thinking does or does not change. However, our record of the blog does not change, unless of course we use the edit button.

    I choose not to use the edit button or delete my posts because that is a part of my life. I cannot delete my brain’s HD or modify my memories that have been recorded and I have been able to see how my life has changed throughout the years. I am proud of my posts as they are an expression of who I was, who I am, and what I hope for.  I accept my blog the way it is and the way it develops just as I have accepted life and its terms as it have gone through development as time goes by.

    Blogging means quite simply “me.”

Comments (15)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment